

# **PUBLIC NOTICE**

# **Constitution of the new Board of Directors**

10 January 2025

Members of the public are hereby informed that, by virtue of the provisions of section 12(2) of the Bank of Mauritius Act 2004, the Board of Directors of the Bank has been reconstituted as follows:

# 1. Dr Rama Krishna SITHANEN G.C.S.K (Chairperson of the Board of Directors)

Dr Sithanen is the Governor of the Bank of Mauritius.

His professional career of around 46 years is split among public sector, private sector and international consultancy and advisory work. He has significant experience in policy making, operations and advisory work in economics, finance, global business and the financial services sector both in Mauritius and in Africa.

Dr Sithanen was Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Economic Development and Economic Empowerment between 2005 and 2010. He was Minister of Finance between 1991 and 1995.

He holds a BSc with First Class Honours and an MSc with Distinction in Economics from the London School of Economics and Political Science. He also holds a PhD in Political Science from Brunel University.

## 2. Mr Rajeev HASNAH

Mr Hasnah is the First Deputy Governor of the Bank of Mauritius. He is an economist and CFA Charter holder with extensive experience in investment management, corporate finance, law enforcement and economic diplomacy.

He holds a MSc in Economics and Finance from Warwick Business School and a BSc in the same field from the University of Mauritius and is a Chartered Financial Analyst.

## 3. Mr Gérard SANSPEUR

Mr Sanspeur is the Second Deputy Governor of the Bank of Mauritius. He is a seasoned professional with significant experience in investment, regional trade and economic development.

He holds a Post-Graduate Degree in Economics and International Trade as well as a BSc in Economics with specialization in International Trade from the University of Aix-Marseille and Finance and a MSc in Economics with specialization in Development Economics from the same university.

# INDEPENDENT MEMBERS

#### 4. Ms Sharmilla BHIMA

Ms Bhima is a qualified lawyer and currently Partner in the Corporate Department of Appleby, Mauritius. Prior to this position, she was a practicing barrister in general private practice with exposure to offshore commercial and litigation.

Ms Bhima is a member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators UK and the International Council for Commercial Arbitration. She is also an arbitrator on the Mauritius International Arbitration Centre (MARC), MARC Panel of Arbitrators of the Mauritius Chamber of Commerce and Industry and World Intellectual Property Organisation.

Ms. Bhima has also acquired expertise in intellectual property law. As Chairperson of the Industrial Property Tribunal she helped the Government of Mauritius adopt the Copyright Act 2014 and the Industrial Property Act 2019.

She holds an LLB from the University of Reading, an LLM from Kings College, London and a Post Graduate diploma in international arbitration from Queen Mary University, London.

She has also studied AI, blockchain and Fintech at the Said Business School, Oxford University.

## 5. Ms Shalini JUGESSUR-SUMPUTH

Ms Jugessur-Sumputh is Managing Director at Accenture, currently leading the Accenture Technology Centres in Mauritius, France, Vietnam and Morocco. A seasoned engineering and business professional, she is also a member of the Board of Directors of Accenture Services (Mauritius) Ltd, the Director General of Accenture in Vietnam (Linkbynet Vietnam Ltd), a subsidiary of Accenture France SAS, and an independent non-Executive Director of the Mauritius Institute of Directors.

She holds a Diplôme d'Ingénieur (Masters Degree) in Information Systems Engineering from Centrale-Supélec, France. Ms Jugessur-Sumputh was also in the Accenture Executive Development program from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management.

#### 6. Ms Mehzabine PIRBHAI

Ms. Pirbhai is the Chief Investment Officer of Groupe Filatex and Interim CEO of Filatex Ventures, based in Madagascar. Prior to her current position, she served in senior roles in the banking sector, specializing in Corporate and Investment Banking, Treasury and Sustainable Finance, with a primary focus on African and international markets.

She holds a Bachelor of Business Science (Finance & Financial Accounting) and an Honours in Financial Management from the University of Cape Town, South Africa. She is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) and holds an ACI Dealing Certificate.

#### 7. Mr Matthew John LAMPORT

Mr Lamport is currently a Senior Lecturer at the Faculty of Law and Management of the University of Mauritius. Since January 2005, he represents the University of Mauritius on the Financial Reporting Council. He was also a member of the National Committee on Corporate Governance from August 2020 to November 2024.

He holds a BSc in Management Studies and an MSc in Finance from the University of Mauritius. He is also a Fellow Chartered Certified Accountant.

## 8. Ms Jennifer WEBB de COMARMOND

Ms Webb de Comarmond is the Founder of Engaged Solutions Ltd. She has more than 12 years of experience as an entrepreneur specialized in Strategic Human Resource Management, with particular focus on talent acquisition, employee engagement, talent development, employee value proposition, training and HR consulting amongst others.

She is currently the Chairperson of the SME sub-committee of Business Mauritius and was also a Board Member of the University of Technology, Mauritius.

She holds a Bachelor of Social Science with Specialisation in Management and Industrial Psychology from the Natal University, South Africa.