

# **PUBLIC NOTICE**

# **Constitution of the new Monetary Policy Committee**

10 January 2025

Members of the public are hereby informed that the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of Mauritius has been constituted as follows:

## 1. Dr Rama Krishna SITHANEN, G.C.S.K. (Governor and Chairperson, ex-officio)

Dr Sithanen is an economist with over 46 years of experience. He has held significant roles in both the public and private sectors, including Minister of Finance and Vice Prime Minister, where he introduced key economic reforms.

Dr Sithanen holds a BSc Economics (with First Class Honours) and an MSc Economics (with a Mark of Distinction) from the London School of Economics and Political Science. He also has a PhD in Political Science from Brunel University, London, UK.

### 2. Mr Rajeev HASNAH (First Deputy Governor, ex-officio)

Mr Hasnah is an economist and CFA Charterholder with extensive experience in investment management, corporate finance, law enforcement and economic diplomacy. He holds a MSc in Economics and Finance from Warwick Business School and a BSc in the same field from the University of Mauritius and is a Chartered Financial Analyst.

## 3. Mr Gérard SANSPEUR (Second Deputy Governor, ex-officio)

Mr Sanspeur is a seasoned professional with significant experience in investment, regional trade and economic development.

He holds a Post-Graduate Degree in Economics and International Trade as well as a BSc in Economics with specialization in International Trade and Finance from the University of Aix-Marseille and a MSc in Economics with specialization in Development Economics from the same university.

## INDEPENDENT MEMBERS

#### 1. Dr Jameel Ahmed KHADAROO

Dr Khadaroo is an experienced international consultant and the Founder CEO of OptiFin Solutions Ltd. He reckons more than twenty years of experience as an economist specialising in econometrics, with prior experience as an Associate Professor at the University of Mauritius. He has also served as the Member of the MPC during his tenure as the Second Deputy Governor of the Bank of Mauritius from February 2007 to February 2010.

He holds a Bachelor of Economics from Macquarie University, Australia and an MSc in Economics and Econometrics from the University of Bristol, United Kingdom. He holds a PhD in Applied Econometrics from the University of Bristol.

#### 2. Ms Sharmila BANYMADHUB-CHAKOWA

Ms Banymadhub-Chakowa is a Finance professional with more than 32 years' experience in various sectors of economic activity including the Financial Services sector. She currently acts as an Independent Non-Executive Director in several entities in Mauritius.

She is a Fellow member of the Association of the Chartered Certified Accountant, member of the Mauritius Institute of Professional Accountants and a Fellow of the Mauritius Institute of Directors.

#### 3. Ms Martine IP

Ms. Ip is currently an Audit and Assurance Partner at Kemp Chatteris. She has also served as an Independent Director and Chairperson of Audit Committees of several entities.

She holds a BSc (Hons) in Economics from the London School of Economics and Political Science and is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales.

### 4. Dr Myriam BLIN

Dr Blin is the Head of the Faculty of Accounting, Finance and Law at Charles Telfair Education -Curtin Mauritius since August 2022. She has more than 20 years of experience as an academic in the field of development and international economics both in Mauritius and abroad.

She holds a Bachelor's degree and a post-graduate degree from Université Aix-Marseille II in International Economics. She also has a MA Development Economics and a PhD in Economics from the University of Manchester.

#### 5. Dr Jeevita MATADEEN

Dr Matadeen is currently Senior Lecturer at the University of Mauritius and has more than 10 years of experience in the field of Finance as an academic.

She holds a BSc (Hons) in Mathematics, and a Ph.D. in Finance from the University of Mauritius. Dr Matadeen is also a Chartered Financial Analyst.